Contact: Ben Shelton (
May 13, 2016

Bub McCool Masters COMP Cams Super Dirt Series at Greenville

Greenville, Mississippi (05/13/16) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil and the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series (MSCCS) opened a doubleheader weekend of challenge events at Greenville Speedway on Friday night, and it was home state driver, Bub McCool taking the $2,000 victory.

Current CCSDS point leader, Austin Rettig brought the field to the green flag for the 30-lap finale as the New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter. He was joined on the front row by B.J. Robinson.

As the race went green, defending MSCCS champion, Bub McCool wasted little time advancing from his 4th-starting spot to the lead.

While McCool paced the field, Kyle Beard was on the move from his 5th-starting spot and by the midway point he was up the runner-up spot. In the closing laps Beard pressured McCool for the lead, but would be unable to overtake the Vicksburg, Mississippi driver.

McCool claimed the $2,000 victory for his 5th-career victory with the CCSDS. Beard, Austin Rettig, B.J. Robinson and 15th-starting Timothy Culp rounded out the top five finishers.

Kyle Beard started the night by tripping the clocks with the fastest time in qualifying as he circled the ¼-mile oval with a 15.029-second lap in Group A. In Group B it was B.J. Robinson, who was fastest with a 15.066-second lap.

Black Diamond Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Austin Rettig with Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 being claimed by B.J. Robinson. M&M Paint & Construction Heat Race #3 was won by Rick Rickman, while Bub McCool won ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #4.

Mark Martin Powersports B-Main #1 was topped by Jonathan Rowan with Tommy Surrett winning Arctic Cat B-Main #2.

Jon Mitchell won the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from the 21st-starting spot to an 8th-place finish. Defending CCSDS Champion, Jack Sullivan received the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award after battling issues throughout the night.

Saturday, May 14 takes the CCSDS to Magnolia Motor Speedway (Columbus, Mississippi) for a $2,500-to-win/$400-to-start, 40 lap event. Saturday’s event will mark the first of two appearances at the facility for the CCSDS this season. Bub McCool scored the win in 2015 as the series made its debut at the state-of-the-art, 3/8-mile oval. NeSmith Crate Late Models, Street Stocks, and Factory Stocks will also be a part of the program. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults with kids (ages 10-and-under) Free with a paying adult. Pit admission is $35 for adults with kids (ages 6-to-10) $25, while kids (5-and-under) are Free. The pit gate opens at 3:00 p.m. with grandstands opening at 5:00 p.m. Racing action is slated for 7:00 p.m. For more information on the facility, please visit .

The entry fee will be $110 each night at the CCSDS trailer with non-transfer drivers receiving $100.

Racers please note that an 8” spoiler will be mandatory for all cars. COMP Cams Super Dirt Series suspension rules will apply. For more information, please view the rules at .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Tire South, Kuntz and Co. Racing Engines, New Vision Graphics, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Henryetta Ford, Black Diamond Chassis, Mark Martin Powersports, Arctic Cat, Wilwood, Allen Manufacturing, Boston's Sports Bar and Restaurant, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Woodco, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mid-State Golf Cars, Henryetta Ford, M&M Paint and Construction, Ronald Surrett Contracting, Beach Veterinary Services, MSR Mafia Marketing, Sampson Racing Communications, AR Bodies, Schoenfeld Headers, Wilwood, Central Arkansas Pest Services and Keyser Manufacturing.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – May 13, 2016
Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi)
Feature Results
1) Bub McCool 2)Kyle Beard 3)Austin Rettig 4)B.J. Robinson 5)Timothy Culp 6)Rick Rickman 7)Hunter Rasdon 8)Jon Mitchell 9)Clay Fisher 10)Chad Thrash 11)Tommy Surrett 12)Doug Showah 13)Dean Carpenter 14)Chris Brown 15)David Payne 16)Kody Barber 17)Jonathan Rowan 18)Chandler Petty 19)Scott Abraham 20)Brian Rickman 21)Duke Palasini 22)Jack Sullivan

Entries: 36 Representing Six States (AR, LA,, MO, MS, TN, TX)
Group A & Overall Fast Qualifier: Kyle Beard (15.029 seconds)
Group B Fast Qualifier: B.J. Robinson (15.066 seconds)
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: Austin Rettig
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: B.J. Robinson
M&M Paint & Construction Heat Race #3 Winner: Rick Rickman
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #4 Winner: Bub McCool
Mark Martin Powersports B-Main #1 Winner: Jonathan Rowan
Arctic Cat B-Main #2 Winner: Tommy Surrett
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Austin Rettig
COMP Cams Top Performer: Bub McCool
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Jon Mitchell (21st to 8th)
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Jack Sullivan
Cautions: 3
Red Flags: 0

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 3 8    Mike Palasini,jr    Leland , Ms 100.00
2 2 77    Greg Fore    Greenville , Ms 95.00
3 1 J8    Bobby Jordan     - 90.00
4 4 5    Richard Fedrick    Greenville , Ms 85.00
5 5 841/2    Randall Beckwith    Winona , Ms 80.00
6 6 D8JR    Christopher Showah    Greenville , Ms 75.00
7 11 7    Eric Carr    Bruce , Ms 70.00
8 9 44    Peyton Wilkerson    Leland , Ms 65.00
9 8 J1    Jay Downs    Leland , Ms 60.00
10 10 46    Kenny Carpenter    Cleveland , Ms 55.00
11 7 30    Justin Paxton    Isola , Ms 0.00 DNS
     More Results

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 5A    Josh Beckham    Choudrant , La 100.00
2 3 21    Troy Dow    Monford , Tn 95.00
3 1 13    Jeff Scott    Hernando , Ms 90.00
4 4 40    Don Hooker    Greenville , Ms 85.00
     More Results

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 15    Shane Hawkins    Greenville , Ms 100.00
2 1 93    Heath Pritchett    Greenville , Ms 95.00
3 6 3J    Justin Reynolds    Greenville , Ms 90.00
4 3 7H    Casey Hobson    Sterlington , La 85.00
5 5 8V    Mike Palasini     - 80.00
6 4 38    Ac Parker, Jr    Wayside , Ms 0.00 DNS
     More Results

Finish Start Car Driver Hometown Points
1 2 21C    Carl Stanley Kilgore    Greenville , Ms 100.00
2 1 11J    Josh Jennings    Greenville , Ms 95.00
3 4 R1    Jamie Rochelle    Greenville , Ms 90.00
4 9 D83    Logan Showah    Indianola , Ms 85.00
5 8 Z1    Zach Downs     - 80.00
6 3 5    Dustin Rushing     - 75.00
7 6 69    James Head    Indianola , Ms 70.00
8 5 C12    Clayton Kilgore    Greenville , Ms 65.00
9 7 3F    Danny Finklea    Greenville , Ms 0.00 DNS
10 10 35    Calvin Summers     - 0.00 DNS
     More Results